Roboclette

A true emblem of Valais genius, the Roboclette is the first machine in the world capable of scraping melted cheese. Born from a collaboration between Idiap and Eddy Baillifard, this technological gem shows the growing potential of research into artificial intelligence in Valais – a mix of tradition and innovation.

Unlike normal robots which are programmed to carry out one specific and repetitive task, the Roboclette is capable of learning human gestures needed to execute complex and multiple manipulations, which it reproduces with precision and dexterity. Programmed to intuitively transfer skills from human to machine, the robot, guided by a human hand, learns gestures through observation and can be guided simultaneously and remotely for operations requiring faultless precision. Recently presented at CES in Las Vegas, the Roboclette is an illustration of the growing influence of Valais innovation on the international scientific stage.

The technology developed by Idiap can be integrated into the human body (prostheses and exoskeletons), used to relieve professionals of recurring tasks (industrial robots for maintenance, personal assistance and services), but it can also be used to avoid human error (ultra-precise robots controlled at a distance for surgical operations or bomb disposal).

Roboclette

Véritable emblème du génie valaisan, le Roboclette est la première machine au monde capable de racler du fromage fondu. Né de la collaboration entre l’Idiap et Eddy Baillifard, ce bijou technologique illustre le potentiel grandissant de la recherche en intelligence artificielle en Valais, entre tradition et innovation.

Contrairement aux robots lambda programmés pour une seule tâche, spécifique et répétitive, le Roboclette est capable d’apprendre la gestuelle humaine nécessaire à l’exécution de manipulations complexes et multiples, qu’il reproduit avec précision et dextérité. Programmé afin de transférer intuitivement les compétences de l'homme au robot, ce dernier, guidé par la main humaine, apprend les gestes par observation et peut, lors d’opérations nécessitant une précision sans faille, être guidé à distance de façon simultanée. Récemment présenté au CES de Las Vegas, le Roboclette est l’illustration de l’influence croissante de l’innovation valaisanne sur la scène scientifique internationale.

La technologie développée par l’Idiap peut être intégrée au corps humain (prothèses et exosquelettes), employée pour décharger les professionnels de leurs besognes récurrentes (robots industriels de maintenance, d’assistance et de service à la personne), mais aussi utilisée pour éviter les erreurs humaines (robots ultras-précis contrôlés à distance, pour des opérations chirurgicales ou de déminage).